Mohammad Rizwan, Imran Tahir sail Multan to win against Karachi in PSL opener

KARACHI: Skipper Mohammad Rizwan and Imran Tahir sparkled the most brilliant on Thursday as they assisted their group with cruising to a seven-wicket triumph against Karachi Kings in the initial match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at National Stadium.Mohammad Rizwan, Imran Tahir sail Multan to win against Karachi in PSL opener


Rizwan played a skipper’s knock as he scored 52 off 47 balls, while Tahir gave his side the initial wicket and furthermore took an aggregate of three critical scalps – Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Nabi, and Tom Lammonby – after they won the throw and put Karachi to bat.

The Kings’ bowlers couldn’t perform sufficient as they were at that point under tension as the Babar Azam-drove side had given a small 124-run focus to the Sultans, which they finished in 18.2 overs at the deficiency of three wickets.

Understand more: Babar Azam’s initial excusal against Multan leaves fans disillusioned

Mohammad Nabi took two wickets and Mohammad Ilyas took one for the Kings.

Aside from Rizwan, Shan Masood scored 26 runs, Sohaib Maqsood 30 runs, and Tim David – who additionally finished the coordinate in style with a monstrous six – scored 12 runs.

Karachi’s innings
The Karachi Kings gave a small 124-run focus to the reigning champs Multan Sultans, as Imran Tahir got three wickets to confine the Babar Azam-drove.

The fall of wickets started in the tenth over when Tahir got the first and pivotal wicket of Sharjeel Khan (43), who was having some fantastic luck with his initial accomplice and captain Babar Azam.

Mohammad Rizwan, Imran Tahir sail Multan to win against Karachi in PSL opener

Understand more: Aima Baig’s PSL 2022 opening service execution gathers love, analysis

Later in the eleventh over, Khushdil Shah took the wicket of Babar in the following north of (23), stacking up tension on the Sultans.

Mohammad Nabi was the third man to go for 10 of 17 balls and the man to excuse him was Tahir. In the equivalent over, the veteran spinner got the wicket of Tom Lammonby (1). Joe Clarke (26) was excused by Shahnawaz Dahani in the eighteenth over.

The Sultans just gave six additional items in 20 overs. Reigning champs Multan had won the throw and chose for field first against Karachi.

The Kings experienced a blow hours before the match as previous captain Wasim and worldwide player Jordan Thompson have tried positive for Covid.

Playing XI
Karachi Kings: Babar Azam (c), Sharjeel Khan, Joe Clarke (wk), Mohammad Nabi, Tom Lammonby, Lewis George, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Taha, Umaid Asif, Mohammad Ilyas

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c)(wk), Shan Masood, Sohaib Maqsood, Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, David Willey, Imran Tahir, Imran Khan sr, Shahnawaz Dahani, Ihsanullah

Opening function
Prior, the seventh version of the competition started off at National Stadium, Karachi evening with a stupendous opening service.

PSL 7 song of praise specialists Atif Aslam and Aima Baig acted in a brilliant opening function.

  • PCB
  • PCB
    Top state leader Imran Khan’s exceptional message to PSL groups was likewise played during the service, trailed by a lively light show.

Mohammad Rizwan, Imran Tahir sail Multan to win against Karachi in PSL opener

“I’m opening the seventh PSL and I trust each group battles till the last ball and engages people in general,” Prime Minister Imran Khan said in a video message.

Leave a comment